Early Years Curriculum


Name of Stage

Year Group


Foundation Stage

Key Stage 0

FS1 (Nursery)

FS2 (Reception)

The Early Years according to the British National Curriculum is named Foundation Stage. The Foundation stage is broken into two parts:

  • Foundation Stage 1 or Nursery - this is for children between 3 and 4
  • Foundation Stage 2 or Reception - this is for children between 4 and 5

The introduction of a Foundation Stage was a significant landmark in education. The early years were given a distinct identity, and a more detailed, focused curriculum, where the emphasis is on learning through planned play activities.

Children are competent learners from birth. They develop and learn in a wide variety of ways. The well-planned play, both indoors and outdoors, gives the children many posibilites to:

  • explore, develop and improve learning experiences that help them better understanding of the world
  • practice and build up ideas, concepts and skills
  • learn how to control impulses and understand the need for rules
  • act individually, be alongside from others
  • be cooperative in talks with other children and reveal own feelings
  • take risks and make mistakes
  • think creatively and imaginatively
  • communicate with others as they investigate or solve problems
  • express fears or relive anxious experiences in controlled and safe situations

The British Curriculum is organized into six areas of learning. All six areas of learning are equally important in this curriculum and are taken into account when planning activities and lessons. None of these areas of Learning and Development can be delivered in isolation from the others. They depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. All the areas must be delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. Very often, a well-planned activity can promote children’s development and understanding in several areas simultaneously.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • English Communication, Language and Literacy

  • Problem Solving, Numeracy and Reasoning

  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World

  • Physical Development

  • Creative Development